33-yo thinking about med school

Hi,

I am a current 33-yr old 4th year Ph.D. student in biological sciences at Hopkins planning to graduate end of this year or early next year. I have been thinking of pursuing medical school after graduation. Although I passionately love research, I feel that medicine would be a more rewarding profession.

I had taken the MCAT 7 years ago and got a 28. My undergraduate GPA was ~3.4 and I’ve gotten mostly A’s in all of my graduate courses. I have already published 15 (3 first and 12 co-authored) original peer-reviewed scientific papers so far, and am expecting to have 5 more by the end of the year. I have also had experience teaching undergrad cell bio and biochem lab at Hopkins. In addition, I am also an instructor teaching graduate level courses at the National Institutes of Health.

One of the compelling forces that has led me back to medicine is coming from the medical mission trips I take every year to the dominican republic. Since 2003, I have been joining a medical mission team and travel to remote regions of the D.R. to provide much need medical help and education. These trips have changed the meaning of medicine for me (i.e.from cut-throat competitive to compassionate and caring).

My primary concern would be whether I need to retake the MCAT again before applying? I’ve looked at a few schools and most of them specify that the earliest MCAT score they would accept is 2003…so my scores are expired. Even my GRE scores which were taken in 2002 would be too old! Although I have taken many advance science courses, studying for the MCAT is VERY different and not so interesting…

The second question I have is how likely is that I could also do a post-doctoral fellowship at the same time as medical school (instead of MD/PHD, I would be doing MD/post-doc), since I am very much interested in medical research.

If someone out there has ANY advice on how I should proceed, I’d very much appreciate it.

K-