37 yrs old 20 crdts this semester

Hello all,

My name is Andrew, I just found this site and I just wanted to introduce myself. I’ve read some of the forums and found the responses to be encouraging, which is great. After spending over 10 years in the corporate world and working my way up from salesman to general manager with 100 reports I was laid off this past August. I have dreamt about being a physician for the past 5 years and I am now afforded the opportunity which I am seizing with all of my soul. With the support of my wife and 4 yr old twin daughters I went back to school full time in preparation for the MCATS this August 2009. I graduated from a University in 1998 with a B.S. in Business Administration with a GPA of 2.0. Last semester (at a local CC) I took 12 credits including A&P 1, Chm 1, & Micro 1, and recieved a 3.0. This semester I am taking 20 crdts A&P 2, CHM 2, PHY 1, BIO 1, ORGNC 1. Over the summer I will take PHY 2, BIO 2, & ORGNC 2, as well as the Kaplan review on the weekends for the MCATS in August. I know I don’t need all of these courses until I matriculate into med school, but I also know that I’ll need them to be successful on the MCATS. I will get a 3.6 GPA overall when all is said and done, and I will get a 32Q on my MCATS as well. I will be accepted into med school for 2010, I will graduate med school, and I will become an emergency room physician.

Thank you.

You got a 2.0 in your previous degree, a 3.0 taking a three class quarter, and you anticipate finishing with a 3.6 after taking a five class quarter? Do you tend to rush things?

You might want to ease your pace. Nobody will care how many quarters it takes you to complete your prereqs, but they will care what your GPA is - and they may be more skeptical about classes taken at a community college.

Prereqs and MCAT prep simultaneously? Ouch.

You appear to be setting yourself up for a brutal quarter with a chaser of disappointment.

Slow and steady wins this race.