38 with PhD debating regarding med school

I am so glad I found this site. I know age makes no difference, but it is more matter of logistics. I am 38, my kids are both teenagers (one 18 the other 16). I spent my early life as a paramedic with a number of certs. I completed a BS in Biochemistry & Molecular Bio with a 3.59 GPA in 2003, and my PhD in Cell & Molecular in 2007 with a 3.79 from UCSD. I worked in the cardiac research field (focused on cardiac stem cells and protective kinases) with 10 pubs in top tier journals and patented research in the area. I am now working in pharma/device after leaving Harvard. I am considering going back for my MD and have a couple of questions:

1. What are the chances of getting in to med school with this record?

2. When do courses “expire” such that I would have to repeat?

3. How do I pay for med school? I know there are student loans, and know the limits, but are there additional options for re-entering students?

4. I am debating between cardiothoracic surgery and cardiology. How impacted are these two subspecialty residency programs?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!