38M, ORM, Admitted MD with a 2.2 undergrad GPA. You can do it and its never too late for reinvention

I am writing this for people who are Non-Trads thinking about medical school and wondering what direction to take to get there. This is my story (uGPA < 2.2, sGPA < 2.0, White male, over 30) coming from a competitive undergrad school on the west coast. I majored in a non-science so my sGPA only included a small number of low marks. I couldn’t find much information on how to get into medical school in my situation, so I am writing this in hopes that someone else might find it useful. This cycle I got accepted to a few MD schools and a few DO schools. You can do it too.

You will hear a lot of people tell you along the way that you cannot make it. Always have a common sense backup plan, but know that you do have a chance. This is not a quick fix or a fast solution, but it is one path to get to your goal if you decide you really want it.

Considerations before you start:

Your application will all hinge on one difficult standardized exam (MCAT) at the end of your journey. You need to really think about how well you do on these types of exams. Look at your SAT/ACT percentile for a rough guide, but understand that the caliber of students taking the MCAT is going to be higher. Just for reference, mine fell about 10% from one test to the other. I have no idea if this is typical, but it is something to keep in mind. The common advice I found online was a 510+ (~80th %) for MD and a 505+ (~65th %)for DO. I found that I really needed a higher score than 505 for DO because DO schools lean more heavily on GPA. This is N=1 experience, but I was flat out rejected from more DO schools pre-secondary due to GPA screening than MD schools and found it to be a common theme.