3rd year PhD student...

I’m a 3rd year PhD student in Immunology and still at least good 2 years away from graduation, but thought I’d waste some time and contemplate about my post-graduate life.
Some general questions…
Are there any advantages or disadvantages of applying to medical schools as a PhD graduate?
Are there any medical schools that look more “favorably” on applicants with a PhD?
Do I need to worry about “volunteering experiences”?
Thanks!

Quote:

I’m a 3rd year PhD student in Immunology and still at least good 2 years away from graduation, but thought I’d waste some time and contemplate about my post-graduate life.
Some general questions…
Are there any advantages or disadvantages of applying to medical schools as a PhD graduate?
If you have a clear idea of how you are going to combine your Ph.D and MD then the answer to your question is yes, the Ph.D is going to be an advantage. If your goal is academic medicine, then the MD-Ph.D is almost a requirement.

Are there any medical schools that look more “favorably” on applicants with a PhD?