40 and thinking about it

hi all!

i am new to this and was surprised to find the site. i am 40 (soon to be 41) and looking to get some insight. i have been seriously giving some thought to a career in medicine. i am an architect with my own firm - graduated in a thesis program in '96 & licensed in 2002.

so here i am at some kind of crossroad. i have always had this in the back of my mind but never really thought i was up to the challenge. however as i got older, it seemd like it may have been a better choice. the one thing that is making it difficult for me is my wife and 3 yr old. she is behind me 100%, but i am worried about the financial burden though,. sure this isnt new stuff for you all, but thats the beginning of my story.

so if anyone has any advice on how to get started i would love to hear…

thanks!

I am 40 also and finishing up my undergrad in biology. I got married young and raised two kids before I decided to finish my education. First you need to make sure you are up to the commitment. Although I have not yet entered med school I have worked in two teaching hospitals. Both med school and residency are going to take a lot of your time and dedication. If you are up to the challenge then go for it!! No time like the present. You can do it!!!

hi BBI,

thanks for the advice & support - i know once i commit, then its all or nothing. i realize that i need to get the prereqs out of the way prior to application… the MCAT is something else i need to research. i am an NYIT graduate - i am hoping this helps the possibility of getting into NYCOM -they are on the same campus.

i know my approach would be rigorous - just like architecture.

the income part of it is another animal completely. i need to figure on a way if at all possible to make up for the income i will eliminate once back at school…

any other comments are welcome!

just wanted to add some more.