40-year-old flight paramedic

I am posting this as a request for both information and inspiration.

I am thinking of starting the pre-med sequence, but want to be sure I’m not about to subject my wife and kids to a pipe dream.

I am 40, I have a wife, three kids and a mortgage. We love where we live, the kids are in elementary school where they are very invested in our town and have lots of friends.

Fortunately, there are more than a few medical schools within commuting distance, so that’s not a huge concern.

I’ve been a paramedic for 15 years. I currently work as a flight paramedic and I love the job, but I’m realistic and know that I’m pretty much against the ceiling when it comes down to what I’m able to do to help my patients. For a medic, there’s really nowhere to go, clinically speaking, after flight medicine. I’m not saying we’re the best medics (believe me, I know plenty of amazing medics who choose for various reasons to remain on the ground side), but we do generally get to see the sickest patients.

I’m just coming to the point where so much of the things I’m learning are filed under the “good to know, but not something I’ll ever be able to use in the field” category.

I don’t want to stop growing professionally, but in order to do that I think I need to grow in ways that aren’t circumscribed by the limits of my paramedic ticket.

Most medics I’ve known in the same boat have gone on to nursing, and I was even accepted to a 3-year NP program for people with non-science bachelor’s degrees (mine’s in English).

But at the end of the day, and while I have tremendous respect for nurses, it just seemed like the opposite side of the same coin. (Plus, I balked at the $100,000 debt I would have gone into in order to participate in a field I wasn’t 100 % sure I wanted to particpate in)

I considered that other great refuge of the frustrated medic, PA school.