43 Year Old Lawyer - Is this possible How do I start?

Hi Everyone:

Thank you for reading this.

I can’t believe I have ‘finally’ decided to take the next step in these thoughts I have had in my mind for years. . . So, here goes nothing . . .

I am a 43 year old lawyer. I have practiced law since 1996. 4 years ago, I tried exiting the law, and; I am getting pulled back in for financial reasons. If any of you have ever been in litigation, you will know why I tried to exit.

My desire to help people, and; to heal people finds a very tough audience in the law.

I am definitely on a journey of discovery right now with my career path.

One difficulty, is that I am the sole income producer for my family, and; I have two young children, and; one on the way. My wife is a stay at home mom.

I have thought about Med school in Costa Rica (my mother and father’s native country). I have four cousins in Costa Rica that are MDs, and; one of them is the government director that posts MD’s throughout the country.

Aside from the rigors of law school and law practice, the only classroom time I have done in the past few years, is as a University Professor.

I really have ‘no clue’, how I would do with mathematics, chemistry, etc. Lawyers, although dealing with logic; do not necessarily study math. There is a joke I made up, “The reason I studied law instead of medicine, is because I was not really good at math”.

The other issue; sad to say; is income. My income on ocassions reached about 20K per month. However, as mentioned, I tried exiting the law practice, but; the income is pulling me back in. I am willing to make some financial sacrifices, but; my wife might say, "Now what if you go through all of this, and then decide that you do not want to practice medicine, just like the law? Good question? Any suggestions?

So here it is:

1. Should I consider a Med School in Costa Rica (which one); can I come back to California and practice?