A bit of history, and a school question

Hello… I am an ASCP certified cytotechnologist, as well as a microbiology med-tech. I have spent the last 5 years as a research scientist working in a BSL-3 laboratory at a university… and I’m 40. I am in the final stages of prepping for medical school application season (my MCAT is April 23rd). I graduated with a BS in Microbiology GPA 3.67 in 1996. I am a first generation college graduate.

I am also the “human subjects guy” at my university, so I have quite a bit of ‘patient’ contact (so far just phlebotomy).

I sat down with the Pre-med advisor, where I work, and he told me that age discrimination is alive and well at US medical schools. He suggested that I apply to Creighton, Case Western Reserve, and DO schools because they have a history of taking “older students.”

So… I am going to apply to Creighton and Case Western Reserve (as advised), as well as the DO schools in Fort Worth, TX and Yakima, WA (based on my familiarity with their locations). I should apply to more than just four schools… are there any other allopathic medical schools that are friendly to older students? Are there any schools (allopathic or DO) that have bad reputations, or that I should avoid?

I plan on going into Family Practice, and I would honestly prefer to be a rural doc.

My institution, Univ. at Buffalo, is very encouraging of older applicants. I think that 10% of my 3d year med school class is now over 30!

My advice is to apply to a wide range of schools where you would be interested in attending and try not to worry so much about whether or not your age will be a factor. It will be, yes, but it’s very difficult to factually say that your age will keep you out of consideration at certain schools. You might look at ages of accepted students and say “gee, they’ve never accepted a student over 40”. Maybe they’ve never had a student over 40 apply, or the few over 40 who applied weren’t well qualified.