A little about me...

I have been trolling the site for a couple of weeks and thought I should take the opportunity to properly introduce myself…

I graduated from high school in Southern California in 1997. I began community college immediately following graduation. Much to my surprise, I did far better in college than I had in high school. I think the structure of high school was too oppressive for me and found the freedom of college a much needed reprieve. However, I still did not know how to study for science and math. I easily achieved B’s and A’s in every other course, but I hit my first wall during the Spring semester my second year at the CC and earned a D in Chem and an F in Trig. Although, this happened very shortly after my boyfriend successfully completed his last rounds of chemo/ radiation, and I was mentally drained, I have to take ownership of those grades. So, I dropped out.

I moved to Arizona with my boyfriend so he could resume his college education. I wasted a lot of time hanging out and working as a waitress, until I decided to take a photo and guitar class at the local CC in AZ. Then I transferred to Northern Az University (declared Bio major). I did okay that semester (3.2 GPA) but I was very unhappy there, I did not like my roommates and just found the school was not a good fit overall. So, I dropped out before the Spring semester and made a bee-line to Costa Rica for a couple of months.

I got married about a year after that to the same boyfriend, now husband, still in remission. We’ve moved back to CA and I resumed at the original CC at which time I changed my major to Psych. I excelled at it and before I knew I transferred and was graduating from UCLA with a BA in Psych (3.3 GPA, not impressive, but triumphant for me nonetheless).