A little Confused

Hi Everyone,

I am new here and I am just reading all the wonderful posts. This is such a wonderful website. I just wanted to give a little background and see if anyone can help me. I am a nurse and I am 32 years old. I just decided that I wanted to go to med school after 14 yrs. I was pre-med back then but I had my son and life happened. Well I decided to do nursing and it is not what I want at all. My gpa back then was not really good at all being a single mother, working and trying to go to school. Anyway, with my nursing and my other schooling it is about a 2.8. I am doing Physics I, Bio I and Chem 2 now. I plan on taking Orgo I and Physics II and Bio II in Spring 08 and tackle Orgo II in the summer. I wanted to take my MCAT’s in the summer time right after orgo II. I am studying for the MCATs now as well. Anyway, because of my low gpa, I wanted to try to do a Special Masters Program. Can I apply to med school for 2009 and try to get into a masters program in Fall 2008. Will med schools still accept my application when I am still doing a 1 year masters program??? Any input will help me… Thanks!

I’m not sure why you would do a Special Master’s Program WHILE you are applying to med school. I don’t know that much about how those programs work, but it’s been my impression that one of their main purposes was to buff up your application so that you could present a competitive application. If instead you’d be submitting your application before really diving into the SMP, what would be the point?

Med school isn’t going anywhere. You sound like you’re in a hurry, and I appreciate how you feel that way, but it is better to do this very deliberately so that you don’t have to repeat any of the steps. If at all possible, you only want to take the MCAT and do the application once, because both those things are a royal pain in the a$$.