A little introduction...

I thought that I should finally introduce myself. I’ve been lurking around on here for weeks now. I really like this discussion board!!

So, about me. I have a B.S. and M.S. in engineering from the University of Missouri - Rolla. I’m 26 and have been working at a government laboratory in New Mexico for almost 3 years. While I like engineering, it is SO not for me. I sit in an office all day staring at a computer screen.

As an undergrad, I considered going to med school, but, I chickened out Junior year. I still didn’t know what I wanted to do, so I hung around for grad school, then I got the job in Albuquerque.

I’m just starting this process, and I’ll gladly take any advice I can get! My husband and I have decided we don’t like living in the southwest, and we’ll be moving back to Missouri early next year. I’ve already applied to a post-bacc program in Kansas City.

While I’m nervous to give up such a great job with great benefits, I’m really excited to make this happen. I think I just needed a few more years of maturity before I did something so big.

Are there any other engineers out there? Anyone from Missouri?

A little more about me – I’m a HUGE animal lover (2 horses, 1 mule, 1 dog, 2 cats) and my horse and I ride 3 day events at the Beginner Novice level.

Tracia

Welcome!

I’m not sure if we have any (former) engineers on here or not - I know there are a few IT people running around.

Welcome, Tracia. Maturity is definitely one of those unlisted pre-reqs… it’s taken me about the same time to come to about the same conclusion. Best of luck with your journey

• Tracia Said:
I thought that I should finally introduce myself. I've been lurking around on here for weeks now. I really like this discussion board!!