Academically Dismissed in Undergrad - any way to redeem myself?!

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself, and see if anyone can offer some advice. I was ecstatic once stumbling upon this board - it seems like there’s a lot of people in this boat!

I graduated from college in December of 2002 with a bachelors degree in accounting. I’ve always wanted to be a doctor, but messed up terribly in my first couple of years of college, and thus gave up my dreams.

I finally ended up graduating with a 2.9 GPA, yet still managed to land a great job with one of the Big Four accounting firms. Since then, my career has skyrocketed, but I am absolutely miserable.

Now, at the age of 27, I wish to go back to school and follow my dreams. I’m considering a post-bacc program, but I’m not sure how feasible it is for me to even get into med school considering i was dismissed from college due to my poor academics after my 3rd semester in undergrad. I never stopped going to school, and i worked throughout undergrad, but never really cared about what i was studying enough to do well.

I know i really want to be a doctor, and I am at that stage in my life where I appreciate education, and am capable of giving it my all. I just dont know if I’ll be given the chance given my track record.

Anyone with a similar experience or any words of advice/wisdom?

Welcome to Old Pre Meds!

Yes, there are a lot of people in your boat. Many people will tell you to search out the story of Old Man Dave. Do so… He’s very inspirational…