Active Duty!!! Any Advice??

Hey guys,

I’ve been a lurker for a long time and I always enjoy listening to the podcasts. I felt like I should finally introduce myself and ask for some advice!!! I graduated with my Bachelors in Health Sciences in 2012. I spent some time working as a personal trainer until I joined the Navy in 2015. My service has opened my eyes and shown me that I want to become a physician and serve others. I am hoping to get some advice from you guys!!! I have 3 years left on my enlistment.

I have completed most of the prerequisites when I completed my degree in 2012. The classes are almost 5 years old. I still need to take Ochem and Physics. My GPA is 2.96 for my undergrad and my science gpa is 2.7 so not the best. I also have an associates for my Medical lab tech that I received from my training in the Navy. My GPA for that is a 3.3. I received this from George Washington University. I haven’t taken the MCAT yet but I plan on taking it in the next year and a half. After studying and preparing for it correctly. I know some people have gotten into school with grades that are much older than mine according to the podcast.

Since I already have a bachelors I won’t be able to get TA to pay for the classes I need so I will be using the GI Bill or taking out private loans.

My question is should I take just Ochem and Physics and apply? If I do well in those classes and get As my science gpa should rise to 3.1. As long as I do well on the MCAT do you guys think I have a good chance of getting in?