Active Duty Military

Good evening everyone! I’m just posting here to see what you all think.

I’m currently active duty Air Force (enlisted) looking to apply for early separation to start my DIY post-bacc this fall. I got an online degree from Purdue Global University due to being AD and got a 4.0. I also have some credits from a local community college where I took some pre-reqs and got a 3.9

I plan on taking bio, chem 1, and physics 1 this fall. Then chem 2, physics 2, and genetics this spring. I intend on self-studying organic chem and some biochem to take the MCAT in april to apply next may. I think I can study for biochem because I took it online (will be retaking it in person next fall) but am concerned about self studying for organic chem.

I am an xray tech in the AF for the last 5 years with some shadowing experience but primarily just clinical experience.

I will also end up applying to med schools while still completing prereqs (will be finished next fall)

What is your guys’ opinion? Should I take a gap year to finish prereqs, study for the MCAT longer, and other experience or should I continue with applying next year?

Any advice would be awesome!

What’s going on. I’m former Army, seperated in 2018, currently doing grad school and DIY post bacc at a community college. Especially as military I would say if you have to ask, the gap year might be the right call. As someone that has a tendency to try to do everything at once and bury myself under a heap of stress my main questions to you would be: What is the rush to apply? Would the extra year serve you well and give you time to score better? Self study of o chem will be incredibly difficult. I’m sure you can do it, but if you don’t have to hurry up then I definitely wouldn’t. Also, never underestimate transitioning out no matter how normal you feel at first. It is a strange process I definitely recommend giving yourself time to breathe. Let me know if you need anything.