Admissions Advisor meeting did not go well

Hi all,

I’m a nurse looking to become a physician. I’m also 39 years old. I’ve spoken with admissions advisors at a few different universities - some of whom were super encouraging, but some of whom were really, really not. Today was one that did not go well. With a smile and a perky af attitude, she said the words “you know we obviously do not take age into consideration with our applicants, but a lot of potential applicants over 30 decide that it’s not worth their time to go through all this training.” I didn’t ask that. I didn’t even allude to that. I just wanted to know if they had support systems in place for non-trads. She also said that while I’m working full-time, I have to take a full-time load of pre-reqs and get a 4.0, shadow physicians, and volunteer. I realize that that is normal for traditional medical students (minus the working full-time part), but it is not doable for me. Other admissions counselors I’ve spoken with have said that taking one class at a time, as long as I do well, while I’m working full-time as a nurse who sees and interacts with physicians all the time is sufficient. But now I’m discouraged and doubting my decision yet again. I’m just so tired.

Ultimately, you should ask yourself – Why do you want to be a physician? What can it offer you that nursing cannot. Have you considered working towards a NP? Why not be a NP? All these questions will be asked of you during your interview. In addition, ask yourself – Can you continue with your career as a nurse and not regret the decision of not going down this path? If in the end you have appropriate answers to these questions, then I would continue forward.