Advice appreciated!

Hello, everyone!

I’m new here and very thankful for this wonderful site as well as the wisdom and experience of you all. I’d be very appreciative of comments/advice from anyone on my situation and as to the route I should take.

I am 41, a mother of four (ages 17, 15, 12, 10) and am married to a doctor. I have always wanted to be one myself. I realized in college that I did not have the life experience and maturity to go to med school then, so I majored in biology, psychology and French. My GPA was about a 3.2 - 3.3. A few years later, an experience with a major illness solidified my ambition. I have learned a lot and have a whole new level of compassion now. After having been out of school a number of years due to raising children, I am back to finish my premed requirements. I am finishing organic chemistry this year – I have just finished the labs and done a research project with my professor. The other labs and classes went very well, but I did have to repeat both semesters of organic, thankfully not because of failing, but because of not doing as well as I needed due to rusty study skills, family “things,” memory trouble, and just not being ready for such a difficult class.

With this background, and no science classes or full-time school since 1988, I am far from being the ideal candidate for admission. I will be meeting with my advisor and would like to have an idea of what I should be doing/taking. Do any of you have any suggestions as to a plan for me? I appreciate any help! (I know that I will make it, but it sure has been a long and complicated road.)

Thanks so much,

mich99645