Advice for an Informal PostBac PreMed Path

Hello all,

I am new here on this site!

I have seen several topics on the subject of Postbac Premed paths and I need some advice as well.

I graduated in May 2014 with a Bachelors in Psychology… however, my GPA is not all that high: it is a 2.7. While a freshman and sophomore, I failed both general biology and general chemistry, respectively. I was homeschooled all my life, so the transition to an actual school environment may have contributed to that.

But I pulled through, I graduated, and I am still interested in pursuing medical school as it has been a dream since I was a kid. I know that many formal postbac premed programs will not accept me because of my GPA, so I am in the middle of creating a DIY postbac premed program. The only issue is I am not sure which path to take.

My top option right now is at “ABC”, we shall call it. ABC is a part of a four-year university, but is specifically for part-time students. At ABC, you register and take classes part-time towards a degree or a certificate. I can take all the classes I need, and I receive financial aid, even if I register in ABC as a non-matriculated student. So, at ABC, I am considering either applying as a new degree-seeking student and take the classes I need without finishing and receiving a second degree (though I don’t know how that would look to medical schools) or I can take the classes I need as a nonmatriculated student (which may or may not work since I may not get into the classes I need).

A second option is at XYZ, a 4-year college. I can take courses as a non-matriculated, part-time student, as with ABC. At XYZ, I can take up to 18 credits as a non-matriculated student, but once I take more than 18 credits, I MUST apply for matriculation at XYZ.