Advice for Gap Year Opportunities?

Hi, I’m a premed student graduating this following year (2015). I’ve taken all the prerequisites suggested by my school, have a decent GPA, and am planning to take the MCATs soon. However, I noticed that my experience in the medical field (especially hospital practice) is quite lacking due to where my school is and where I live. The demand for such opportunities is very high and the opportunities’ locations are very inconvenient themselves in both those places for me while I was an undergraduate student. To make myself more ready for what lies ahead and to fill in experiential holes, I decided to take a gap year and apply as a nontraditional.

However, I’m looking at a pretty big challenge right now - what should I look for to spend a year in, and where should I look for such a thing? As of now, I’d prefer a paid internship at a hospital or something of the sort at a city or close to other colleges (so I can pay off my living expenses while being able to socialize with others), but unpaid ones would be great as well. Is this way of thinking right and where can I look for such a thing - hospitals that aren’t inundated with volunteers and are located in places where I can potentially find friends of around my age, or am I hoping for too much? What else can I and should I look for in terms of this sort of experience? Thanks!

Research is huge. Try for research associate (lab tech) positions. If you can land a research position that is affiliated with clinical medicine that would be an excellent opportunity.