Advice for newbie, premed, med school...

Hello Folks,

I just found about this forum few minutes ago and realized am not the only “crazy” one around. I am inspired by your ambition and drive! Kudos.

Thank you in advance for reading my lengthy post and answering my questions.

Background

I am 29 years old (soon-to-be-dad) and working as an engineer(~5 yrs) and very serious about applying to medical school. I finished my undergraduate degree (BS Electrical Engineering, 2001, GPA: 3.75, in India) and MSEE (2003, GPA: 3.83). I always wanted to study and become a doctor, but circumstances and parental pressure made me abandon the idea at that time. While I was studying for my Master’s, I worked on a project on artificial neural networks and this rekindled my interest in becoming a doctor.

Questions

I really appreciate your able answers to the following questions:

1. Am I too old to start medical school ? I am planning on starting premed/post bacc this Fall. I know the answer to the question about age, I guess am looking for a reaffirmation from folks who are going thro’ this process.

2. Do I really need premed (or is there something like core prereqs). Ideally, I would like to apply for medical schools at my earliest, but I realize there is some preparation needed to put together a strong application. Any thoughts and advice on best utilizing my time between now and the time for applications.

3. I live in the SF Bay area and did initial research on UC Berkeley Extension’s post bacc program for non traditional students. Anyone has any inputs on this program ? 24 credits are required to successfully complete the certificate program. Should I complete the certificate program before I apply to med schools or just finish the core classes and take my MCAT.

4. Any other recommended post bacc programs in the area ?

Thank you,

Ajay

Hi Ajay, I tried to answer some of your questions below…

• ajayc Said:
Hello Folks,