Advice needed--Low science GPA feeling hopeless

Hello,
I have attended Florida State and began studying in the biology department. I have taken Chem 1/Lab (B+/A) Chem 2 (C+/B+) then Bio 1/Lab (C+/A) Bio 2 (C+/B+) and Calculus (C+). Obviously I am terrified to continue onto Organic chem and physics given my track record. After receiving a fourth C+, I have seriously reconsidering pursuing medicine and have felt extremely lost and depressed. I do not have any competitive chance at any medical school now, or even PA or dental school for those regards most likely. I am a second semester sophomore and am taking introductory business courses now as a solution, but absolutely hate it and regret now wasting this semester. I feel like I have ruined my time at college and have gotten no where academically. I followed my bio advisor’s advice in taking bio 2 and calc together which was the worst decision towards my med/PA/dental aspirations. Seriously need help and advice, feeling very defeated and confused. Thanks for reading.

Hi Krista!

I came across your post and felt the urge to comment, because I know how discouraging these things can feel. Your grades are important, but they surely aren’t everything. Going into college I thought that to become a doctor I needed all A’s, although getting A’s doesn’t at all grant a golden ticket into med school. (Also, OChem is hard, but it isn’t impossible. You can struggle with gen chem, but do well in OChem and vice versa). One needs volunteer work, clinical experience, personal growth, and more then education to show that medicine is the place for you. I encourage you to read “How to be Pre-Med” by Suzanne M. Miller to get a deeper understanding of what being a pre med is about and what it should be all about.