Advice on a totally subjective matter

So:
I am just starting my prereqs, and I work in a bank. I make 34K in my position in said bank. It’s not a ton of money, but I pay the bills and get by ok.
So I have an interview next week which is for an assistant in a health clinic for underserved (read: poor) patients. They train you to be a medical assistant - taking patient histories, xray tech stuff, vision tests, etc. The person vacating the position is doing so b/c he is going to medschool. I’m thinking this job is perfect for me, both for getting into medschool in 2 yrs and also because it sounds interesting, which my current job is not.
the catch?
It pays only 25K. i’d be taking a 9K pay cut. Ouch.
So what do you think? Is a job like that going to help me enough with my long-term goals to justify the financial hurt involved? I have a lot of debt (credit cards, student loans, car, mortgage, etc) and taking a pay cut will mean I can’t pay down my balances. Also no eating at restaurants, or going to movies.
I hope this doesn’t seem shallow - it’s a hard decision for me. I also have a boyfriend (of 9 yrs -we co-own a condo) who is very nervous about the idea of losing income, since we already are unprepared for emergencies. luckily we don’t have kids to worry about…
I realize that no one can make this decision for me, but anybody got any gut reactions?

If you can squeeze in some volunteer work around your work and prereqs instead, I’d stay put. Pay down those balances. If you ditch the restaurants and cheapen up your groceries, you can pay them down faster. But then, I’m fairly fiscally conservative myself.
You can get some very valuable patient contact through volunteering without putting yourself financially at risk.

Some key questions to ask yourself:
1. Are you really going to make a serious effort to pay down your debt if you stay at your current job? I don’t say this in a mean way, just from experience of knowing that its easier said than done.