Advice on advice

Hello all soon to be, and current, M.D.'s and D.O.'s out there. I have a question on some advice I received. My school’s “pre-med” advisor had told me that I needed to take a more rigorous course load so that medical schools will see that I can handle the work, and that taking 2 core science classes per semester would be frowned upon. With this advice I enrolled in, and am currently taking Orgo I, Cell biology, Vertebrate Zoology, and Statistics (chemistry, zoology, and biology have the accompanying labs). I graduated with a degree in Philosophy from the same 4 year university that I am attending now with a low GPA, 2.7 I think. Since enrolling as a post-bac 3 semesters ago I have maintained a 4.0 GPA, and am keeping my head above water in the classes that I am currently in. Should I have taken her advice? Thank you for your time.

hi Tuffgone…while I dont have a knowledgeable answer to your question since I am so new to all this, I do remember seeing some really good posts on this question in various places with the forum.

I too had a 2.7 that I am attending to.

Hope this helps…

I think the advice to take a rigorous course load is usually good - provided you can manage to do well. Doing well helps bolster your case that you are capable of med school (especially if you have a poor ugrad GPA to make up for). If you end up not doing so well, then it ends up not looking like such good advice.

Your course load will be taken in context of what else you’re doing in addition to knocking out these pre-reqs. Are you working? Doing a 100 mile commute between work/school/home? Taking care of family responsibilities? If yes to any or all, two core courses with labs per semester is an admirable chunk. Conversely, if you are doing your post-bacc work full time, then yes, the more advanced courses will help bolster your application. Regardless, a 4.0 on your pre-reqs negates the poor undergrad GPA. If you can score well on the MCAT, you’ll be competitive.