Advice on grades

First of all, I will say that I am so glad that I stumbled on this website. I will be 34 next month and I decided to go back to school last year as I was pregnant with my 2nd baby. It seems really crazy but I became clear about what I wanted to do with my life. Right after high school, I was an extremely lazy student and received about 5 C’s, 3 F’s and some W’s. I am in the process of getting an academic renewal to get rid of the F’s from my previous school which I am eligible to do but the C’s are my biggest problem. They are bringing my GPA down greatly and I don’t know how to fix them. C’s are not eligible for academic renewal. By the way, the C’s were in the easiest classes I could’ve taken (Speech, English 1, Spanish 1 & 2).

Although my grades since my return to school a year ago are all A’s, my GPA is still only a 2.8 (this is with the F’s being removed through academic renewal). So needless to say, I am in clean up mode. I am almost done with my General Ed and am just now starting to take my Sciences that will be pivotal in my school career.

My question is, do any of you think that these C’s are a deal killer for my pre-med career? Anyone have a similar experience?