Advice on Timing

Hi Everyone. This is my first post, and I first off just want to say how nice it is to have a wonderful community like this. Like everyone on here, I am deciding to go back later in life and its quite the decision. Having the support of many people is very re-assuring.

Anyways, had a question on timing. I graduated undergrad in 2003 and have worked in the healthcare industry for the past 5 yrs, first doing some medical research/engineering and for the past three years, doing healthcare consulting for a strategy firm. I need to take the MCAT, and also take some of the pre-req courses. I took physics/math and one semester of chem as an undergrad, with all A’s and also got 5 credit hrs of bio from AP.

Will I need to retake any of those? And as far as the remainder courses, can I take some of them after the app deadline (between this fall and next fall when I hopefully enter) or do I need them all by the app deadline?? Just trying to figure out if I have enough time to apply to enter next fall. I am planning on leaving work soon (next month) to focus on studying/coursework.

Thanks in advance for the help and good luck to everyone.

Hi doc_hopeful!

welcome to the website and …

… slow down a little bit :).

To enter next fall/ which in the case of med schools is really summer 2010, you would have to apply this summer - June 2009. Ideally you would like to have your MCAT scores before you apply or shortly after - which means you would have to take the MCAT at some point this spring or early in the summer. As you can see, it sounds a little crazy.