advice re. admission for BSc honors graduate

Hello,

I’d like some advice as to how to proceed re. preparing for the admission process.

Background:

I am a 37 yr old woman with a BSc degree in molecular biology, CGPA was 3.61

(finished in 2001). My degree is an honors degree(for my university) which requires more course hours and an individual research term (in which I received an A+). MCAT scores were 36Q. I also received a National Sciences and Engineering Research Grant (NSERC), did research in a lab part time for two years, and also TA’d 13 courses for the department. During this time I worked my way through school with a baby, and also supporting a husband (who could not work at the time).

I want very much to go to medical school; I tried admission in 2001 and was rejected without even an interview(in Canada); talked to the advisor and was accordingly advised that (at the least) I did not have enough volunteer experience. At that time I did not do the correct thing and keep re-applying (I became depressed from this, and quit like an idiot). Now here I am freshly turned 37 (today), and I realize that in order to be at all happy/fulfilled career-wise, I need to finally accomplish what I set out to do in the first place. (and now that my daughter is older, I can actually volunteer, but I don’t think this was necessarily the problem in the first place). I do not do this for any reason other than the fact that science, and particularly the study/practice of medicine is what I find most fulfilling and I believe that I would make a very dedicated and good doctor. (My mother is an MD and I am aware of the dedication etc. that one must have. Also, I do not care much for any other type of work.)