after MS1 - review over summer?

One of my senior faculty members (and best advisor) has strongly suggested that I put in some time reviewing over the summer between MS1 and MS2 (1-2 hrs/day, 5 days/week for most weeks). I’d like some suggestions for what to focus on.
I will almost certainly pass everything this year, but it’s been a lot of work, and the physiology final reminded me of how poorly I understand some of the basic concepts. I am still struggling with concepts like alpha and beta adrenergic responses, protein kinases, cAMP, actions of insulin and glucagon, basic processes of DNA transcription/translation etc… Although I’m a strong conceptual learner, I had to resort to short-term memorization to pass, and now I don’t remember much after the exams. I also feel like I am just beginning to get the bigger picture, and I wonder if review would help solidify everything.
The point behind her recommendation was that I have a relatively weak bio background, and that summer review will help build understanding and confidence for second year. She also says that in her experience, students who have been out of school for a long time often need to put in some extra study time to keep up.
I plan to take vacation; I don’t want to burn out; the second-year students here say not to bother studying. But so far, this faculty member’s advice to me has been wonderful and reliable, so I’m inclined to take it.
Any suggestions for concepts that would be very helpful as a foundation for e.g. pathophys and pharm? Any other ideas?
thanks

Meowmix,