Air Force Reserve

I have been considering Air Force Reserve to have them pay for my post-bac education because I have about a year until I apply to medical school and having a part-time commitment with a monthly stipend sounds great right now because I do need another paycheck coming in to pay bills, you know how that is… I am hoping to go in as an officer because I have a bachelor’s degree already and in the next two years or so I would be able to apply for military HPSP(?) scholarship where they pay for medical school. Is it easier to get accepted into HPSP scholarship program if you are in the service already? I have spoken to my friends who are in the Navy Reserve at the moment and their feedback was negative. I need more opinions and guidances because recruiters have reputations to feed you lies.

Opinion only, with the following disclaimer: I am neither a medical school student nor a vet.

I have been told by military friends that the tales of lying recruiters are overblown. Recruiters certainly try to portray the services in glowing terms, but are instructed never to lie and apparently face very harsh penalties/reprimands if they do.

My opinion on this issue is similar to my opinion on those who want to become an RN before applying to med school: Go into the Air Force Reserve ONLY if you want to serve in the Air Force Reserve. Sure, it can be a great option for paying for school – but YOU WILL BE MILITARY PERSONNEL. If you don’t want to be military, whatever money you “save” by letting them pay for your training will be lost ten times over by your lifelong military commitment.