Airline Pilot to Doctor?

I have some questions that maybe some of you can answer. I am a 28 year old airline pilot for a well known regional airline. After 4 years here, I went for my FAA Physical and found out that I have high blood pressure that cant be explained. So, I started taking an ACE Inhibitor. Now, I am medically disqualified from a 1st class physical, which is required for all airline pilots.

Medicine was always something I was interested in. I worked in a hospital lab all through college and loved it. I have a college education, but have none of the medical school requirements met. I looked at the MCAT practice test and it scared me. All that stuff looked like chinese to me! Im hoping that the core classes in undergrad teach those things, because NONE of it made any sense to me!

I am going to move to New Mexico. Many people have said they are very welcoming to non-traditional students there. Here in Indiana, the medical school welcomes people with connections and/or wealthy parents who buy their kid a spot in school.

Assuming I make good grades and such, I still have to work while I am in school. I cant survive without working right now, so how will I ever get any volunteer work in the medical field? Is that not a requirement?

Thanks for your responses in advance.

Hi Enrique,

Do you want to be a pilot? Are you disqualified from all professional flying? Going into medicine is long and draining endeavor…you shouldn’t go into because you been disqualified from your former career. Obviously, I’m sure you have a genuine interest in medicine, but make sure you get the pilot thing out of your system (that is, if you can help it).