Almost a Year into My Road to Medical School

Hey all,
I stumbled onto this site last summer when I first started thinking seriously about medical school. As the spring semester is coming to a close, I have managed to find my way back here and wanted to share my story with you.
I am 28 years old. Seven years ago I graduated from an ivy league university with a BS in business. My GPA was about a 3.0. Nothing too great, but respectable enough. At the time I had no clue what I wanted to do. I was pretty naive and because of my shelted upbringing had no concept of picking a career or what working full-time was going to be like. After stumbling through a few jobs, I found myself working at a medical school in their computer department. I have been there now for four years, and in that time obtained my MCSE (a Microsoft certification) and was promoted to a network admin.
For me though, something was missing and I new the IT industry was not something I wanted to do forever. I knew some of the basic criteria I wanted out of my new career path: I wanted to be surrounded by intelligent people, do something on a daily basis where I felt like I was making a difference, and to be proud of what I did. About two years ago when I was struggling to figure out what I wanted to do with my life, I was diagnosed with a gastrointestinal disorder that sent me to the ER twice. It is amazing how clear what is important to you in life becomes when you think you are going to die. My two thoughts were “I love my family” and “I haven’t done a whole lot to help others”.