Am I crazy for even THINKING of doing this?

Hi everyone,

I’m staring at my 45th birthday in my headlights and yet I’m thinking of becoming a doctor. My story is like many of yours: wanted to be a doctor for a long time, always dismissed the idea as ridiculous, am feeling completely unfulfilled, desperately want to do something meaningful with my life, help people, etc. I’ve had a lot of firsthand experience with the medical profession as a patient: doctors have literally saved my life twice, once when I had a huge leiomyoma in my abdomen and the other time when scar tissue from that operation knotted up my small intestine and much of it had to be removed. I also lost my gall bladder in a separate operation. Let’s just say that I gained enormous respect for my doctors. There is no higher calling.

My background is in broadcast journalism. I have a B.A. in English summa cum laude with virtually no math or science, an M.A. in English, and a second more recent M.A. in Gender and Cultural Studies. I have a full fellowship to attend a Ph.D. program in Gender Studies beginning this fall, but am finally facing the fact that I don’t want to teach. Or a worse truth – that the work I’m doing just isn’t that important.

I was in the hospital visiting my dad a couple of weeks ago and saw a group of doctors chatting. Something finally clicked at long last, and here I am. For once in my life, I said to myself that I really could be a doctor if only I shut up and got busy. (To be honest, I only said that after stumbling into the OPM website!)

The good news is that I’m single with no kids and supportive parents, so I can devote myself to this in a big way. The bad news is that I have NO math background whatsoever. This is not an exaggeration. Long ago and far away, I dropped out of high school in the 9th grade and wound up with a GED. Basic algebra is a distant memory (I took a community college course); trig and calc are completely foreign languages to me.