Am I Dreaming?

Hello. I am so glad to have found this site!

I’m not quite to the point where I call myself “old” but I feel like I am in the grand scheme of going pre-med!

I am looking for some advice. Here is my story: BA, History in 2004. GPA: 3.0 I took the bare minimum of math and science and the easiest courses, at that. I have no hard science background. I work in fundraising at a well-regarded university and it is BORING. I love to be active, to work with and help people, and to feel like I have accomplished something each and every day- I don’t feel that here.

I recently had a life-altering experience that has made me realize I have been selling myself short for so many years. I really did what came easiest to me when I was in college and thought that if something didn’t come easy to me, it wasn’t worth doing. I have all of the mental tools; I am very curious and my mind soaks up information like a sponge.

That said, I have decided that medicine is the place for me. I have enrolled in community college for the summer to start over again on my math education and plan to do the same with my sciences once I have the math foundation taken care of. I first thought that I may have to get a second BA to make myself a viable candidate because of my mediocre undergrad record. Is this something I should even consider or would I be wasting my time? I want to go to a U.S. med school, preferably in CA since this is my home. I don’t think a post-bac is the place for me at this time as I have too many needs!