Am I mad?

Hello all,
This is my first post to this list. Allow me to introduce myself and then I'll get to the nitty-gritty of my question.
I graduated in '99 with a BA in Japanese and have been living in Japan ever since as a translator/interpreter. Early last year an illness put me in the hospital for two weeks and the experience compelled me to volunteer at a hospital near work - it has been the most rewarding experience of my life. I have recently decided to change hats and return to the US next year to take prereqs and apply to med school once those are out of the way.
Now to my question. I'm planning on moving to California (San Diego) to take the prereqs. Is this an insane idea - that is, establishing residency in CA, which has the most competitive in-state programs to enter? I'm married and have a child on the way (due date is T minus 2 weeks!). Will be working semi-full time as I try and fit classes in. I of course want to maximize my chances of entry somewhere.
I'm sure all of you faced (are facing) some tough hurdles in the road as older premeds, trying to juggle family and work and school and (fill in the blank) ad noseum. What advice do you have for me? A few success stories would be great to hear and inspirational to boot.

RisingSun, welcome!
You’ll find many personal stories here (of struggle, balance, success, stress, and others). OldPreMeds is a great place to look for that… surf around and you’ll probably find some inspiration. (Also, try clicking on “Diaries” on the Home Page…great reads!).
While I think your background is going to make you stick out of the applicant pile regardless of which state you go to and which schools you apply to ( smile.gif ), only you know if you have the motivation to follow through academically and otherwise. If you are determined to learn and do well in the process, you’ll probably succeed in your application to med school and beyond.
And good luck! It’s quite a process, but personally I think/feel it’s worth it.