Am I on the right track???

Hi everyone!

I’m currently doing my pre-med at a community college and just have a couple of questions to ask and see if I’m on the right track…

I got a bachelor of science in nursing three years ago and now working part-time as an RN and going to school. I’ve decided to go for medicine, so I started the pre-med classes that I didn’t take before or during nursing school. Basically, I’m taking all the classes. I took chem I and Physics I already and currently taking organismal bio and Physics II. I’m thinking of taking bio II and calculus or chem II next semester.

People asked me why I’m taking bio again given that I already took the higher division of bio like anatomy and physio or even pathophysio in nursing school, but I talked to the advisor at the community college I’m in now and she say I needed the organismal bio. I’m not sure if I’m on the right track or am I wasting my time taking bio??

Also, I taken some classes at this same college i’m in now when I was an undergrad a few years before. So when I send in the tanscript when I apply for med school, will the “unneeded” class affect the gpa? What should I do to get my gpa up?

Thanks & and nice to meet you all!

I am not familiar with “Organismal” Biology - but did you jump right into Antaomy and Physiology etc without taking Basic Intro Bio? If so your advisor is probably right. Basic Bio is what is met by the usual pre-requsites -

You might get some info on this - ie can more advanced courses substitute for the basic Bio by asking at specific medical schools you are interested in. I think I got a bit of leniency on Chemistry this way.