Amazed Confused

Wow! I had no idea any site like this would even exist yet alone any “older” people would actually pursue medicine! I’m thrilled!

At this point I’m a little confused by the process and am looking for any advice I can get. Here’s my story;

14 years ago (I’m 38) I left StonyBrook University’s Honors College with a 3.75 GPA and straight A’s in Organic Chem and other sciences (some of which I took at a community college). I was a really good student and absolutely loved science. I left to start a family and become a full time mommy. Three kids later, I realize I’m not getting any younger and the desire to practice medicine isn’t getting any weaker.

So, I’m wondering what would be the best options at this point in terms of completing my Bs.How important is it to go to the best school I can get into to complete my BS. How would I refresh myself in the science classes I took so long ago inorder to be up to date and prepare for the MCATs? And please, any other advice you all think would be helpful please send it a long.

In the meantime, I’m so glad to have found this site!

Jenny

I think before debating on whether one college or university is more prestigious over another, you should ask the following:

Can I complete my bachelor’s degree at this college or university? Can I schedule classes around my work schedule and/or home schedule at this college or university?

Does this college or university offer upper division premedical courses?

Can I afford this college or university?

Can I achieve at this college or university? (Actually, this might be the first question you should ask.)

Then, after answering the above, should you ask about the prestige, or more properly put, the familiarity medical schools have of the college’s or university’s premedical program.