AMCAS 2007 FAQ

I started working on my amcas and I have few questions. I wonder if we shouldn’t open a temporary sub-formum for this purpose.
Anyway! My first question is about languages in biographical information section: should I put English as my primary language and Polish as ‘others’ or the other way around? Polish is my first language but at this point it’s not my primary language. What do you think?
Another question is about transcripts. I attended two colleges in Poland. But I majored in Teaching ESL in one of them and History in the other. Both majors are really unrealated to medicine. I only transfered few classes to the university I’m attending now (general education classes like psychology, computers, philosphy). I marked that transcripts from these schools are not required. They ask for a contact information there. The person I list may be contacted by my designated medical schools and asked to verify my attendace at the institutions I listed. Who do I list there? If I list an official from the school there is a big chance they don’t speak any English! I assume I cannot list myself. Should I list my husband? My American friend who knows that I attended some colleges in Poland?
I’m really confused.

Question 3:
Why would someone want to know my parents/ siblings information? I’m not dependent on them, and they don’t even live in the US. Should I skip this section by choosing ‘no’ or would it be better for me to fill in this info?

Question 4:
I had my transcripts and diplomas from Poland translated and evaluated by a creditential institutions. They were equivalent to over 190 credit hours in the US. So techinically I began my American college career as a senior+. How do I handle it in Course Work Section? Do I just start counting from the beginning? Or mark ‘senior’ everywhere?

Kasia -