An introduction is in order

Fellow oldtimers -
I am an army officer who’s finally calling it quits in favor of a medical career. I started 10 years ago and did horribly - but thankfully I didn’t continue past o-chem I. With everything together, the BCPM is around a 2.1. I started to retake the courses through a distance program with NC State to start preparing for the MCAT and was accepted to University of Maryland’s Science in the Evening program so I can work and study (and not worry about a third deployment to Afghanistan/Iraq!!).
With an overall undergrad GPA of 2.49, a graduate overall GPA of 3.58 (non-science, two masters total this May), I am just hoping that I can get things into order. I’m tempted to just apply to the six-year programs in Ireland - but who knows. What do you guys think?
Oh yeah, and while I’m not old at 28, after my life experiences, I certainly feel that way sometimes.

Hiya,
What do you do in the Army? I’m ex-Army (enlisted) myself, 2 different times - once as a linguist (interrogator, but I ended up a translator/interpreter/liaison, for all practical purposes) and once as a special forces medic.
Good luck with coming back into the med school path, I think that’s great. You thinking of staying in the military and/or doing the AMEDD thing to pay for it?
Sam

If I were you, I’d be hitting up the plethera of financial aid available to millitary folk and ex-folk so fast the frowning overworked lady at the front desk’s head would spin.
You guys have got it great when it comes to recieving financial help for school!
To both of you, thank you for your service to our country.

Quote:

If I were you, I’d be hitting up the plethera of financial aid available to millitary folk and ex-folk so fast the frowning overworked lady at the front desk’s head would spin.
You guys have got it great when it comes to recieving financial help for school!
To both of you, thank you for your service to our country.