An Introduction

Greetings all!

I wanted to introduce myself to the group and let you all know about my life long dream, that has been on the back burner for way way too long.

My name is Rob, and on May 25th I will be the ripe “old” age of 39. (I still cant believe that). Recently I been doing a great deal of soul searching on what will make my remaining time on this earth “Purposeful”.

I have a wonderful family which includes my wife of 13 years and 3 sons, but I have been floundering in finding a “love” of career, that I think has its roots in my closing the door on a possible career in health care while I was a Sophomore in college.

Tonight, I’m going to broach the subject about taking a leap of faith with my wife. I want to pursue that career in health care. I’m not fully sure the path that I will take to achieve this, but I want her to know about my desires.

I do have a degree from Northwestern University in Mechanical Engineering which I earned in June of 1992, but its been quite some time since my “core science” classes, and I dropped organic Chemistry way back in 1989 when I decided to change my major to mechanical engineering, abandoning my health care aspirations.

I would think that I will need to retake my PreMed Requirement courses again, so I have a fighting chance on the MCATs. I will need to work full time during the time of taking these classes, so It looks like the earliest i can apply to Med School will be when Im… Oh my 41ish

It seems like this at the outer rim of the age group. But I would like to know is the likely-hood of this dream coming to reality.