An introduction

I’m a 29 year old female and married with no children except two dogs and a cat. I’ve been a vet technician for 10 years but in search of a new career, I entered a community college 1.5 yrs ago. This year I decided to pursue pre-med and will be transferring to IUPUI this fall. I’ve yet to take any premed classes in fear that community college biology and chemistry courses will be an inferior educational experience compared to those offered at universities. I have 30 credits to transfer over to IUPUI and IU school of medicine, where I hope to be accepted, requires 90 credits total.

I’m seeking advice as to how I should proceed with my premed classes at IUPUI. Especially since I will be needing to work at least 15-20 hours a week for the next 2 years to help pay off debt before med-school.

Also, I have to factor in family planning before med-school. Anyone else been in/are in the same boat?

Hi,

I’m in indy too. I’ll be talking classes at IUPUI starting in the summer, I think.

I know med school typically say 90 credit hours, but my understanding is that it’s highly highly unusual to be accepted without a bachelors degree. But that’s only 1 more year and 29 yrs old is like a baby around here.

You could talk to the pre-med advisor at IUPUI if you haven’t already.

With 20 hours/wk of work, you just need to consider how many classes you can handle. I know people that have worked full-time jobs in college and graduated early with an engineering degree. Most of us can’t pull that off; I know I couldn’t.

2 classes should be doable, 3 isn’t unreasonable if you’re sharp and don’t have much else going on. It’s more important to do well than be done quickly. You have a better idea what works for than anyone here will.

I would probably try 2 classes to start, and then you can always add a 3rd, 4th, etc., the next semester.

Hopefully, we can both laugh about this at IU med school some day.

K-