An introduction

Hello, everyone! My name is Amie and I’m 26. I’m married, and have a wonderful two-year-old daughter who just started Montessori today (Slightly proud? Perhaps, yes.).

Since I can remember, I’ve wanted to go into medicine. I dressed up as doctors and surgeons for Halloween, had a play medical bag, “Doctor Barbie” and a kit for building a Lego hospital. I remember the day our family friend/physician gave me one of his old stethoscopes that he had shortened to fit me. (I still have it buried somewhere in my daughter’s toy box.)

I was a pretty stellar student until my mother was killed in a car accident when I was in high school. My grades fell from straight-A’s to D’s and F’s and pretty much never recovered completely. I got so far behind in mathematics, I had to re-take Algebra 2, and dropped pre-calc because I couldn’t hack it. My high school “guidance” counselor (if he’s qualified to hold that title) told me at the start of my Senior year that I should reconsider my applications to universities, and maybe go to a trade school “or something,” and handed me a stack of paper work for cosmetology classes. With my family in disarray, and no one really supporting me, I couldn’t really pull myself out of the rut. Even though I did really well in Biology and decently in Chemistry (I took the highest levels my school offered)and completed my through my 12th grade year, I was missing a math credit and not allowed to graduate.

I got my GED, worked really hard, networked well, and was eventually hired by a biotech/nanotech company in executive-level management. A lot our research centered around medicine. I found myself focusing more and more on the medical research than my own sales and marketing department. I couldn’t get enough of the medical journals that filled up our “junk mail” box. Unfortunately, the company collapsed in the recession, and I’ve been unemployed ever since.