an OPM newbie w/an unsupportive spouse

Hi everyone,

I’m new to OPM, but not to the idea of going to medical school. But I’ll come back to that.

First, a little bit about me: I’m 28, married (but no kids), and live in the Chicago 'burbs with my husband. Mom’s a hospice nurse and Dad’s a family physician, so I grew up with medical talk and such all around me. Although my father actually discouraged me from going to med school (due to his hatred of HMOs and the whole managed care scene, and how it messes with a doctor’s ability to practice), I entered college as a pre-med bio major.

However … during my freshman year, in order to fulfill a university writing requirement, I took a journalism course, and was suddenly thrown into confusion. I discovered, to my surprise, that I loved writing. And I was pretty good at it, too. After a lot of soul searching, I changed my major to journalism and graduated in '03.

Since then, I’ve worked as a newspaper reporter, a magazine editor, a freelance editor, and a textbook editor (high school literature books). While I have enjoyed certain aspects of all of these jobs, medicine was always at the back of my mind. But I kept it back there, assuming that it was impossible, or near so.

When I was laid off in March, though, that changed. I realized I needed something different in my life, something more fulfilling. I recalled the thrill I got, back in AP biology, of understanding how muscles functioned. The amazement of watching, the summer I worked in the ICU of a local hospital, physicians literally bring patients back from the brink of death. And also the gravity of having to tell a patient’s family when death could not be overcome. And then the wonder I felt when a nurse let me help her with the mundane task of drawing a tube of blood - realizing that this would help determine what was wrong with the patient, and how to help him.

I realized I wanted back in that world.