Anesthesia

Anesthesia ROCKS!!!
I knew before I even started medical school that I as a physician, I wanted a career that involved complex problem solving in a high acuity environment with lots of technical procedures and an absolute minimum of ‘chronic’ patient care. I don’t just want, but Ineed to be independent. I have to confess that I have the attention span of a 5…no, a 3 year old! And, sick & sadly enough, I enjoy the pissin contests of the alpha-male dominance ritual. Essentially, these needs & my attributes steered my towards three choices: anesthesia, ER & surgery. Naturally, they ended up being my top 3 choices, in that order.
Honestly, I was completely taken by surprise by anesthesia. It was my second clerkship of my third year & only 2 weeks long. Historically, it was a blow-off elective here in Saginaw…the MSU-MD students usually signed up for it during interview season because there was generally no expectations. No shit, my first morning, the Anesthesia Chief gave me a tour, introduced me to a couple of attendings and told me that to pass this clerkship, I only needed to show up by 0700 every day. I could sit on my ass and watch TV or participate as much as I wanted. I could leave at noon or stay as late as I wanted. However, to pass I could nothing else other than show up by 0700 & watch TV/read/study until noon and then leave.
I countered with “I’m truly interested and want to learn”.
His response…"Yeah, been told that before"
I spent that first day in a simulation lab intubating and puttin lines into dummies – no, the plastic kind.
How did I handle this? I showed up at 0600 eveyr morning for pre-op rounds and actively chased down attendings to learn stuff. Within the first day or so, they figured out I was damned serious.