Another new guy

Well…here we go. First time post, I’ll try to be brief and keep my cortisol levels under control.

I am a registered Native American, veteran, graduated with a BS in biology a couple of years ago, sGPA of 3.4 and overall of 3.5. Had a rough time with calc, o chem and physics. Most of my grades are As and Bs. Not many ECs, but was a combat medic for 4 years, worked closely with a handful of military doctors.

I was nearly a high school dropout a number of years ago, but the military set me straight and a doctor with whom I worked inspired me to pursue medical school. Got out of the military, got married, enrolled in college. Had a kid half way through, the coursework got more difficult, I lost my grandfather and best friend in the same year, and suffered some a couple low grades. Put off studying for the MCAT until after I graduated. Got a job, tried to start MCAT studying but gave it up after physics and o chem made absolutely no sense to me…again. I stressed myself out, became disillusioned and decided to give it up, then looked into PA school. Found a few schools that I could apply to this year and made the CASPA profile.

Why am I here, then? I thought I had given this up, but my gut/heart/hard head has been restless. In all this planning to apply to PA school, I find myself looking at/thinking about LECOMM’s PA->DO program often. While fishing this past weekend a thought occured to me…it said “you are not done with this, you will not let undergraduate classes defeat you…come up with a plan and take the MCAT.”

What’s my plan supposed to be?? I literally understand very little about physics and o chem, how in the world do I go about relearning the courses well enough to make a competetive score? Becuase of my low-ish GPA, would I need a 35 to be considered? I’m 30 this year (young to many, I know) and just want to get the ball rolling with the rest of my life. How in the world do I approach this? Especially now that the MCAT has changed?