another newbie needs advice

Hello all,

I’m really glad to find this forum. Been reading the posts for the past couple of days and they have already been very helpful.

A little bit of intro on myself. I’m 33, father of two young kids, finished my B.S. in computer science in Korea and M.S. and Ph.D. in computer science at a state university in the States. I worked as a researcher at a national lab and am now a software engineer, living in SF bay area.

I’ve been mulling the idea of becoming a medical doctor for the past 10 years(!) but I kept discouraging myself for various reasons. But this time I got really serious and am having this “do it now or I will never be able to pursue it” mentality. I’ve been bouncing back and forth between different thoughts for the past two weeks and man, this has been painful.

My wife is quite used to my regular bouts and has been putting up with it since we got married. This time, however, I had guts to discuss this matter with her very seriously and of course she is not happy at all.

She had to work while I was a grad student for extra income and green card. Now I’m making good money and it is indeed time for stability. She’s happy with being a full-time mom raising kids and intends not to work till the kids are grown up. We’ve been talking about buying a house soon when prices go down a bit further and my older daughter is ready for kindergarten. And now, I’m trying to turn everything upside down.

I have doubts about myself as well. I’ve been greatly interested in this profession and constantly amazed by how human body works. Whenever my kids are sick, I found myself getting all nosy about the stuff and doing a great deal of research for their symptoms. I am compassionate and like helping people. But is this really enough motivation to pursue this tough career for which I have to ask my family to sacrifice so much? Is this just an extensive interest instead of a real passion? I really gotta figure it out.