Any advice for someone who has been out of school for 10 years???

Hello all…

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me…

I am 31 years old and a graduate from the University of Florida, fall class of 2000. I finished with a Bachelors of Science, Microbiology and Cell, with a 3.77 GPA.

I was following the pre-med track during school…extracurriculars, volunteer work, taking an MCAT prepatory course, etc…then thought I wasn’t cut out for the entire process. I graduated but dropped the rest, proceeding to travel for 6 years… I now have been working as a server/bartender during and after college…

The problem is I always go back to thinking that I strayed from my intended path.

I have no idea where to begin…do I start a post-bacc program?..Will the classes I took 10 years ago even be accepted? Do I need to find a life advisor?

All kidding aside…I am very interested in pursing this dream and would like to see if anyone had any input…

Thanks for any help!!!

Sidenote…I only posted my stats to show I can do this…

I would advise you to start slow - take a class or two and see how you feel about going back. you will need to take most of your premed courses anyway, especially Bio, which has had important changes in the last decade. You should also go volunteer again to see if you have the taste for the work. You will have to work on your self-assessment, meaning you need to convince yourself that you are cut out for this. I know I had to!

• campkel Said:
I would advise you to start slow - take a class or two and see how you feel about going back. you will need to take most of your premed courses anyway, especially Bio, which has had important changes in the last decade. You should also go volunteer again to see if you have the taste for the work. You will have to work on your self-assessment, meaning you need to convince yourself that you are cut out for this. I know I had to!

Rule 1: Take a Breath.