Any guidance or advice would be great!

Hey there!

Just discovered this site this morning and I’m very excited to have access this resource.

I’m currently in the process of enrolling myself back into my university to buff up my undergrad resume before applying for grad school. I have to admit I’m nervous because it’s been awhile since I’ve been a full-time student and I have quite a bit to pick up from my past experiences in school: I’m starting off with a really low GPA that I can barely get into a masters or post-bac program at this point.

Then again, it’s one step at a time, yes? Anyway I’m ready to do whatever it takes to get into DO school, so any advice that would help me reach this goal would be great. Also just glad to know that there’s people out there that have similar aspirations.

Cheers,

Lynn Tran

Hi lptran, first WELCOME!!! This is forum is a wonderful resource and you will have the benefit of getting a lot of valuable information.

It is hard to give you much advice due to not having much information…current gpa, courses you have or have not taken, etc.

Some suggestions is to first not look into any grad programs as it won’t effect your undergraduate gpa which is a major player in your pursuit. Also, formal post-baccs aren’t really required.

What I would suggest is to look at some of the DO schools you are interested in to find out what they look for in prereqs…some will have the traditional prereqs (1 yr bio, 1 yr gen chem, 1 yr organic chem, and 1 yr physics…all with labs). Some schools may require more science classes like biochemistry, and some might require some biohavioral classes.

What I would suggest is that you get all of your transcripts together to see where you actually stand and which classes you will need to retake. While DO schools will require all of your classes, they will only calculate your retakes into your new GPA.