Any guidance would be helpful

Hello everyone. I am not new to the forum, but this is my first time posting in a forum. I have enjoyed reading a lot of people’s success stories and hope that one day I am on this forum posting my own success story. Anyways, enough of the babbling and here is my story and question. I am a 35 year old male who just recently received my B.S. in Psychology. I want to complete my goal/dream of becoming a doctor but I am kinda having trouble on deciding wether to complete the prerequisite courses or to go back and get a second degree in premed. I want to go the fastest route but I know that sometimes might not be the best route. My question is: Which route might be the best route prereq courses or second degree? I am open to all suggestions. By the way some statistics are : 3.67gpa, just grad in December,Troy University, wife (stay at home mother) and 2 kids. I really value all of your opinions and I really appreciate any feedback (positive and negative). Thank you.

Personally, I don’t think a second degree is going to increase your odds. My suggestion would be to go back and do the prereqs independently, but be sure to focus on those courses and get A’s in all of them.

One thing to keep in mind is registration priority. Non-degree seeking students are often at the bottom of the pile, which can make scheduling of some courses quite difficult. If possible, you may see about registering for a degree program and just complete the core classes you need (note: not all universities are cool with this plan).

Another option would be to go through a formal premed post-baccalaureate program designed for carrer-changer students. They are more expensive, but you avoid the non-degree low priority status. Depending on the program, some offer guaranteed interviews with med schools, committee letters, etc.