Any Older Canadians Trying to Get into MedSchool?

I’m a 41 year old Canadian in Canada about to give up on a successful Marketing career to try to get into Med School. I did a BSc in the 80s but my first 2 years were abysmal!! I rocked my last year (it took me a while to figure out how to study as I didn’t have to in high school). I applied to med school at that time but not surprisingly did not get in. Being practical, I decided instead to do my MBA (did pretty well GPA wise) and ended up in Marketing for a communications company. I’ve done very well career wise, but my heart is not in it. As I get higher up the corporate ladder I see all these people with a burning fire for the business world and the only time I feel like that is when I read medical articles, books or watch Discovery Health. So I’ve decided it’s now or never. I’m going to quit work in the spring, study my heart out for 4-5 months (while taking a MCAT prep course) and then write the MCAT. I am also going to go back to university full time in the fall as a couple of universities up here will consider me if I take that extra year. I’ll apply to a few med schools for admitance in fall 2009 and see how it goes. I’m expecting to apply again for the fall of 2010. It’s a scary decision because I make a good living and I am going to be giving that all up. It will all be worth it though when I get in to med school and when I graduate as many of you have.

So Mary Renard - your story is very inspirational for me. Thanks for posting it.

Richard B - where are your rules? I can’t seem to find them.

Way to go Old Man Dave - you are truly inspirational!!

So back to the question in my topic - any Canadians around here?

Welcome, LJSimpson . You’ll want to check out some posts by Presee, who’s also Canadian, eh.

hey there, your plan sounds pretty good. Presse is in his first year of med school and we haven’t heard from him in awhile but he’s older than you by about ten years I think!