Anyone in Texas

hi,
Just wanted to introduce myself. Let me just start by saying I’m so psyched that there is whole community of crazy people like me.
I’m a chemical engineer who’s been making his living as an IT professional for the past nine years. Medicine has always been one of my dream careers, but I didn’t pursue it back then partly for financial reasons, but mainly because I didn’t think I couldn’t handle the hard work. Well, after a couple of stints at internet startups I’ve learned that I can subsist on pizza and diet cokes and only five hours of sleep. I came to believe that I can actually make it through those crazy residency years.
I’ve been taking biology courses at Houston Community College for the past two semesters, getting A’s in all of my courses. I will have to say that some of the courses I took at HCC were not as rigorous as I would like. I have to review the subject for the MCAT. I have yet to take Organic Chemistry again, but I’m planning on taking the April MCAT just to see how much brain power I have left. Needless to say I’m reviewing the material on my own.
Is there anyone on this forum located in the Bayou City? If so I hope to exchange ideas on courses and studying for the MCAT and other premed stuff.
Well, I’ve rambled on long enough. I look forward to learning from y’all.
Mike

Mike,
welcome to OldPremeds! Yup, it is a long tough road, but if you have chosen to take it for the right reasons, are willing to do the work & make the sacrifices that will be required of you - then you have as good a shot as any of the rest of the applicants. Know this - there are no magic combinations of MCAT/GPA that will guarantee an admission to medical school. Furthermore, there is nothing that you cange in your past. So, if like the majority of us, you have prior academic transgressions, take ownership of them - do not make excuses! Never, never, never be apologetic for your age…sell it as an asset.