Anyone new to the medical field and feel lost?

Hi all. I'm a 25 year old sophomore in college with a family. I work full time and go to school at night.
I am a biology major and should be attending Roosevelt U in Chicago soon.
The thing is I have no medical/research experience at all and I feel a bit intimidated.
I read a lot of people's diaries and posts here and sdn and most people have some type of experience.
Is there anyone out there who is new to the road to med school who really has no experience yet?

Hi! I tried to respond to your similar post on SDN but the server is kinda slow right now.
I'm 39, no real medical experience. The closest I've come is helping to care for my invalid aunt in high school and a couple of hospital vigils–my father has had two major surgeries (abdominal aneurysm repair and hip replacement) in the last few years and we had to have family members with him all the time because the anesthesia made him so wonky.
I have an appointment with my school's premed advisor next week. If she's helpful, I'll get her assistance on setting up appropriate volunteer experience. If she's not, I'll start networking on my own. I've just registered this semester for Chemistry I, my first step in getting my prereqs. Whee.

I had little to no experience in medicine when I started my journey (starting with pre-med classes) at age 29. I felt intimidated when I started, and now that I'm in medical school I still feel intimidated every day. But that doesn't mean it's a bad experience…it's a great experience. You'll get through it. Enjoy!

Thanks mpp!

Hi there, Agent!
I, too, am a 25-year-old pre-med student with a family. Like you, I have absolutely, positively NO medical or research experience. Until last semester, I was a Journalism major. biggrin.gif I’ve since switched to English and Biology.